January read: Adventure time

Wild by Cheryl Strayed | Effervescent life by K

First book i read this year is Wild: From Lost to Found on the Pacific Crest Trail by Cheryl Strayed. I received it as a Christmas gift and I must say i am very happy. I totally loved it. I think it is profound and well written. I also loved the fact that it’s a real story. At first I thought, how can this book can be 315 page long, she’s just gonna write about walking, and walking, and walking, … I thought it would be boring. I was pleasantly surprised because it’s a captivating book!

Now, I really want to travel more, defy my limits, and, of course, go on a hiking trip! Did you ever go on one? Please tell me about it. The only thing I could refer to was back in 2011 when I visited Italy with two of my best friends. We went to Cinque Terre where we walked in the mountains for six hours that day. I was totally ex-haus-ted, could barely put one foot in front of the other (and I didn’t have a big, heavy bag, had to care about food or simply basic survival, like Cheryl) but it was TOTALLY worth it. The views were amazing and the satisfaction at the end of the day too!

My friend mentioned that she’d like to go hiking in Corse, I guess I’ll start doing some research… K.

3 thoughts on “January read: Adventure time

  1. After your trip in Europe, I would suggest Mount Jefferson (in the White Mountains (State of New Hampshire)). It’s probably less exotic or mediteraneen than Cinque Terre but it’s a very good hike (bring a lot of water) and at the end it’s very rewarding! You have a great view over the White Mountains (Mount Adams, Washington…). There is a bit of rock climbing (but you don’t need any special gear for it) so it’s a full body exercise!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

